Skip to main content

MOSCOW, March 1. /TASS/. Russia has imposed restrictions on flights operated by airlines from Switzerland, the Russian Federal Air Transport Agency said.

“On February 28, 2022, in accordance with the rules of international law, in response to Switzerland’s ban on flights of civil aircraft operated by Russian airlines and/or registered in Russia, restrictions were introduced on flights by ‘civilian aircraft used and/or registered in Switzerland’, the federal agency said.

On Monday, the Swiss Federal Department of Foreign Affairs announced the suspension of direct flights between Russia and Switzerland. The Swiss government declared on Monday its support for the sanctions imposed against Russia by the European Union.

Russia has closed its airspace to 36 countries in retaliation against countries that have closed their airspace to Russian planes. In addition to the United Kingdom, Bulgaria, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Romania, Estonia, Slovenia, the Czech Republic and Poland, with which the airspace has already been closed, 27 other countries have been registered on the renewed list, including Germany, Spain, Italy and France. Flights from these countries can be made with special permission from the Russian Federal Air Transport Agency or the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

On February 27, the foreign ministers of 27 European Union member countries approved the decision to completely close EU airspace to Russian aircraft.

Russian President Vladimir Putin said in a televised address early on February 24 that in response to a request from the heads of the Donbas republics, he had taken the decision to carry out a special military operation in order to protect people “who suffered from ‘abuse”. and genocide by the Kiev regime for eight years.” The Russian leader stressed that Moscow has no intention of occupying Ukrainian territories. Western nations have imposed sanctions in response, both personal and sectoral , targeting among others the public debt and the banking sector of Russia.